Review and read others' reviews - about movies, TV-series, books, music albums, concerts, games - to give and get advice on what's considered good or bad.
 
HomeHome  PortalPortal  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Radioactive
Royal Reviewer
avatar

Posts : 139
Reputation : 17
Join date : 2014-07-30
Age : 22

PostSubject: Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls   Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:51 am

Woho, a photography section! Very Happy Thought I kick-start this section by sharing some photos by my favorite photographer!

I love to sit and just look around at photographies. Finding new photographers I like and read about them, their thoughts about their photos, what cameras and techniques they use etc. Nick Brandt is a photographer I discovered about a year ago. Besides being a photographer, he has directed a lot of music videos (two of them are Michael Jacksons "Earth song" and"Childhood"). But for me, it's not about the music videos. It's about his amazing photos, mostly from his exhibition "On This Earth A Shadow Falls".

Every time I see them, they take my breath away, so much that I really don't know what to say about them. They're simply amazing. Some may think that it's just photographies of animals, but for me, they are so much more than that. There is so much emotion in these photos, so many different emotions... In a way, I feel calm and happy when I see these photographies. It makes me feel good to see these animals being free, living in the environment they should live, and not being trapped in zoo's. It makes me feel like they're home, like they wouldn't want to be anywhere else.
But at the same time, the photographies with the humans kind off make me feel unease. Might have something to do with the name of the exhibition... Like the humans are the shadows that fall on this earth (Okay, getting a little to deep now, haha).

I've been trying to find some of these photographies as posters to hang in my room, but it's harder than I thought... But some day I'm going to have them, have a picture of a majestic lion and a powerful, amazing elephant hanging over my bed Very Happy

So what do you guys think about his photographies? Do you like it or not? If you do, have any favorites?


Here are some of the photos (took them from google):

" />

" />

" />

" />

" />

" />
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cheavy
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 107
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2014-07-30
Location : Florida

PostSubject: Re: Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls   Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:29 am

Wow..just wow. These pictures are breathtaking! I love that it's black and white. It gives it a simplicity with the many textures of grey, but it also helps focus on the image speaking volumes in a powerful way. I don't have a favorite photographer, but I do like photography and enjoy looking at photos such as the kind here. The capture of one moment in time, and in that moment so much to say. It's amazing. Thank you for sharing.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Radioactive
Royal Reviewer
avatar

Posts : 139
Reputation : 17
Join date : 2014-07-30
Age : 22

PostSubject: Re: Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls   Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:51 am

Cheavy: I definitly agree with you about the fact that they are amazing in black and white, the pictures definitly wouldn't have been the same if they were in colour!
You are very welcome! Smile I can say that this is only the start, heh, I have tons of photographies and photographers I want to share here!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RockRosen
Admin
avatar

Posts : 373
Reputation : 14
Join date : 2014-07-28
Location : Sweden

PostSubject: Re: Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls   Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:45 pm

Astonishing pictures, Radioactive. Beautiful. I somehow like that you're thinking one step further with the meaning of the pictures, the sad thought that the humans are the ones who cast their shadow, and that the pictures of the humans show that, while the animal picture shows us what powerful and wonderful creatures we're having and unfortunately but probably one day only will have had. A tribute to them, maybe a desperate one. Sad but beautiful.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://thereviews.topdiscussion.com
Radioactive
Royal Reviewer
avatar

Posts : 139
Reputation : 17
Join date : 2014-07-30
Age : 22

PostSubject: Re: Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls   Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:29 am

A tribute to them - sad but beautiful at the same time - you took the words right of my mouth RR! Sometimes I really have a hard time putting my thoughts into words - but you Did just that! Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls   

Back to top Go down
 
Nick Brandt - On This Earth A Shadow Falls
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» ANOTHER NICK LEESON? UBS rogue trader arrested.
» Tory MPs Urge Burka Ban, Death Penalty And Abolition Of Nick Clegg (This may be a prank)... Hopefully...
» Questions that Nick McGuffin and Brent Bartley Failed on Lie Detector Test
» Nick Drake
» CSS Text-Shadow not working

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Reviews :: Reviews :: Art :: Photographs-
Jump to: