Review and read others' reviews - about movies, TV-series, books, music albums, concerts, games - to give and get advice on what's considered good or bad.
 
HomeHome  PortalPortal  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 13 Reasons Why

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lahm
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 146
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2014-08-22
Age : 28
Location : Seville

PostSubject: 13 Reasons Why   Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:59 pm



This series is so binge-watchable. Sadly my girlfriend and I are watching it together and only get a few hours every weekend to watch some TV. We are currently on episode 2, so this is pretty much spoiler-free. It has nothing to do with it, but made me remember The X-Files. Back in the day, hands down one of my favorite series. But every time I revisit I am upset, and can only find the mood to watch either the "Monster of the week" episodes or the "backstory" ones. And with this series, I feel like they keep the overall theme going thru pretty individual stories for each episode. Keeps you wanting to get more of the main theme, but shows that you may need some side story to grab all the overall details.

The plot is kind of simple. A teenager is dead, and it seems like bullying might have been involved, which becomes obvious in the first minutes of the premiere. Other than the occasional teenage-drama, which as a grown-up might seem trivial, the mystery is well set and every episode keeps you longing for more. I wish that season 1 will offer some closure, but I am not keeping my hopes high. The acting is not outstanding but good enough overall, and I am kind of picky so that is something.

What do you think, have you started watching this one? So far is my favorite new series from netflix this year. Although I am not liking it more than Stranger Things, the best new one from last year for me!

_________________
Comme elle vient ~ Encore et encore
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cheavy
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 107
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2014-07-30
Location : Florida

PostSubject: Re: 13 Reasons Why   Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:48 am

So is there a sci-fi element to this show? Because you said it reminded you of the X-Files so that's why I ask. I really liked the X-Files, so the comparison enough might have me give it a try. That and another friend of mine says she can't stop watching this show..

Oh and speaking of X-Files (kinda off subject, I know) did you see their six episode run last year?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lahm
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 146
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2014-08-22
Age : 28
Location : Seville

PostSubject: Re: 13 Reasons Why   Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:04 am

Actually I only brought The X-Files up because of the episode type dychotomy hehehe. Nothing sci-fi to it, pretty much a teen-mystery show, done pretty well in my own opinion.

And I'm still waiting to watch those and trying not to get any spoilers. It's been ages since I last watched the whole show, so I planned in watching all the seasons and movie before watching the new season... didn't find the time so far, I guess I'll end up watching the new season one of these days instead.

_________________
Comme elle vient ~ Encore et encore
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cheavy
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 107
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2014-07-30
Location : Florida

PostSubject: Re: 13 Reasons Why   Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:30 am

Ah, ok. Still might check it out though; given I'm watching Riverdale (another teen mystery show) and I find that one compelling to watch.

Yeah, there's a lot of episodes/movies to go through, so it might take a while, but I guess worth it for the story's sake. I don't remember a lot, but I think the new season from last year can also stand alone even if you knew nothing.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lahm
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 146
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2014-08-22
Age : 28
Location : Seville

PostSubject: Re: 13 Reasons Why   Sat Apr 29, 2017 2:50 am

Oh thanks, didn't know that one, I'll add it to my list Smile

_________________
Comme elle vient ~ Encore et encore
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: 13 Reasons Why   

Back to top Go down
 
13 Reasons Why
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Maddie McCann is alive on the Internet .../Portuguese article
» Reasons for delays in receiving retro
» CPB-ML: 10 Reasons to Leave the EU & 10 Reasons to Oppose Breaking Up Britain

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Reviews :: Reviews :: Movies/TV :: TV-series-
Jump to: